Our Governance.

The SEAT Board of Directors is ultimately accountable for the governance and performance of each of the academies and South Essex Academy Trust as a whole.  There is no scheme of delegation as the Directors of SEAT take full accountability and responsibility for the performance of each academy.

The Board is comprised of six non-executive Directors and one ex officio Director. The non-executive Directors are all volunteers who are recruited for their leadership experience within a range of sectors in order to ensure a diverse and balanced skillset on the Board. The ex officio Director is the Executive Headteacher.

The Chair of the Board is Mike Simmonds (mikesimmonds@seacademytrust.co.uk).  He can also be contacted at:

Mike Simmonds.

c/o South Essex Academy Trust Office,

Westwood Academy,

Beresford Close,


Essex SS7 2SU.

The Board of Directors.

Click here to access the profiles of all Directors, their date of appointment, DBS information, declared business interests, and attendance record.  Trust meeting minutes can be found at the bottom of this page.

The Board meets at least five times a year and at each meeting the governance of the Academy is a major agenda item.

The Board of Directors Structure and Remit.

The Directors have responsibility for setting and monitoring the overall strategic direction of the charitable trust and appointing key members of staff. Currently none of their responsibilities are delegated to any local governing board but each academy has a Parent Consultative Group, chaired by the Executive Headteacher, and consisting of a representative parent from each class in the academy.

The Directors meet as a Board at least twelve times a year. For at least half of these meetings the Board specifically undertakes the governance of each academy separately. On these occasions the Head and Deputy of the academy attends to report and be held to account. The agenda for these meetings includes standing items relating to each of the schools in the Academy Trust including finance, teaching and learning, health and safety, and safeguarding. All decisions are taken by the Board as a whole.

A finance committee of the Board meets at least three times a year to set and propose the budget, monitor the budget and scrutinise the annual accounts. Essex County Council Responsible Officer is the Responsible Officer and as such has an oversight role in relation to the systems and processes of control and risk management that operate throughout the Academy Trust.

The Executive Headteacher is the Accounting Officer and works closely with the other Directors, the Chief Financial Officer and the senior staff of each academy within the Academy Trust. The day-to-day management of South Essex Academy Trust rest with the Executive Headteacher who has overall responsibility for the Trust.

Finance Committee.

This is currently the only committee of the Board which supports the Board in ensuring the maintenance of systems of financial management and control to assure financial probity and transparency, and effective financial stewardship and management of the organisation. The committee of three Directors and the Executive Headteacher also prepares the annual budget to present to the whole Board

The Chair of the Finance Committee is Mike Simmonds.

Minutes from Trust Director Meetings can be found here.